Products and Services
Programs and Services
Chief and Council
Job Opportunities
Community Events
Contact Us

Education Unit - Staff List

Anna Marie Abitong - Education Director
Jennifer Owl -Student Data Based Management Systems Officer
Claudette Jones - Post Secondary Student Support Worker
Joanne Owl - Post Secondary Student Support Worker
Christine Toulouse - Secondary Student Support Worker


The Education Department of Sagamok Anishnawbek is governed by a seven (7) member committee under the support of the Chief and Council.  The department is designated by the Chief and Council to provide full educational services for its members along with a commitment to cultural and language integration in its services.

  • As of September 2009, the Education Department operated in 6 key program areas:
    1. Day Care;
    2. Administration;
    3. Elementary Education;
    4. Secondary Education;
    5. Adult Learning
    6. Post Secondary
  • These 6 program areas in education are responsible for approximately 450 students/learners. 
  • Government – Community elected Chief and Band Council.  Regulated under Federal Department of Indian Affairs.

“Empowering Sagamok Anishnawbek to be academically successful and culturally enriched.”

“The Sagamok Anishnawbe Education committee is an Anishnawbek community-controlled and a community based educational network.  We shall provide a holistic educational process towards the well being of the individual learner of the Sagamok Anishnawbek Nation.”


Sagamok Anishnawbek 2011 Graduates:

Sagamok Anishnawbek 2011 Secondary Student Support Policy:



© 2010 Sagamok Anishnawbek - First Nation. All rights Reserved