Sagamok Anishnawbek First Nation
Submit Search


The Council of Sagamok Anishnawbek has a long history of good leadership and good governance that work for the benefit of Sagamok Anishnawbek.  Over the years many Sagamok Anishnawbek members have come together to work as Chief and Council, employees, engaging community members whom are our youth, elders and adults that have all contributed to the success for Sagamok Anishnawbek.  It is Sagamok Anishnawbek’s connection to our culture as Anishnaabe that form the root of who we are and how we walk in this world and how we will prepare for the future of our community.

Sagamok Anishnawbek Chief and Council believe in the importance of being accountable, transparent and responsible to its membership. The expectation of good governance and administration is a function of working together to achieve Sagamok Anishnawbek goals and objectives.   Strategic planning and policy development are linked with community engagement in determining the path forward.  Effective communication is important in all aspects of maintaining, managing and conveying what Sagamok Ansihnawbek is doing.  As the governing structure of Sagamok Anishnawbek Chief and Council strive to work in a professional and accountable manner. As the overall leaders of the Sagamok Anishnawbek Chief and Council have complex functions that require critical thinking and knowledge of public administration and governance.

Chief and twelve Councillors provide leadership to Sagamok Anishnawbek that oversee the work of the organization directly and indirectly through the Chief Executive Officer.  Please note that for the 2018-2020 term of the current Chief & Council, there is one Chief and eleven (11) Councillors.  In the Chief & Council election of August 15, 2018, Nelson Toulouse ran for both the position of Chief as well as the position of Councillor and was declared the winner for both positions.  Nelson was elected as both Chief and as Councillor, though he cannot fill his role as a Councillor as a voting member of Council.  This does not mean that the candidate next on the list with the highest number of votes would have been delclared to be elected.  Instead, with INAC election rules, this translates into an 11 member Council for the 2018-2020 term.  


Nelson Toulouse, Chief
Sagamok Anishnawbek





Below are the Council members that were elected on August 15, 2018 and the portfolio they participate:

Councillor Angus Toulouse

  Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Sheldon Toulouse

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Lawrnece Solomon

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Edward Southwind

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Brenda Rivers

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Anna Marie Abitong

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Arnelda Bennett

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Harvey Trudeau

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Jessie Hardisty

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Kenneth Toulouse,

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned

Councillor Craig Toulouse

            Portfolios are yet to be assigned


Read our News Coverage of the 2018 Sagamok Anishnawbek Chief & Council Election HERE!


Last Leadership of Sagamok Anishnawbek

chief paulPaul Eshkakogan, Chief
I was elected as Chief of the Sagamok Anishnawbek in October of 2005. Sagamok is located along the north shore of Lake Huron and is home to an on-reserve population of approximately 1400 Ojibway. Sagamok is one of a few first nation communities in Ontario that has greater than 50 % of the registered population living on-reserve.

I had previously served as a member of council and as an employee. I also worked for North Shore Tribal Council, Union of Ontario Indians and Chiefs of Ontario. Through this work, I gained valuable experience in self-government negotiations, developing business relationships, community economic development and land claims.

My wife, Vera and our four children, Morgan, Brittany, Desirae and Emma continues to support the role I serve as Chief for my community. During my time serving as the Chief of the community we have had the pleasure to welcome two grandchildren from our daughter, Brittany.

When time permits, I enjoy being out on the land hunting and fishing. The connection to our land is very important.

It remains to be an honour to be the Chief and remains a responsibility that I take very seriously. It is very enjoyable and fulfilling to be able to help our people. And I welcome the challenges that come with the job of being the Gimaa.




(left-right)  Kenneth Toulouse, Lawrence Solomon, Mary Ann Trudeau, Brenda Rivers, Angus Toulouse, Roger Jones, Arnelda Bennett, Rhonda Stoneypoint, Adrienne Eshkakogan, Jessie Hardisty, Edward Southwind  [missing from photo: Anna Marie Abitong]