Sagamok has been home to the Anishnawbek since time immemorial. The many lakes provided an abundance of fish and bird, the forests material for lodgings, canoes, and medicine, the rivers carried our people in all directions faster than the fleetest of feet. When the French arrived in the 17th century, Sagamok became home to the Lachloche trading posts. Although not all of these French trading posts were legal, the site became infamous with trade. The French however while friends of the Anishnawbek had engaged in war against the Haudenosaunee, who vowed the destruction of the French and their allies. In the late 17th to 18th early century Anishnawbek and Haudenosaunee warred against one another, Sagamok’s highest peak known today as McBean Mountain, took its name in this era as Naudauy-Odjing, “Iroquois mountain” in memory of its time as a lookout area.
Sagamok - Post-1850
The region of Sagamok would become a reservation in 1850 with the passing of the Robinson Huron treaty, signed with the intent and hope of providing a prosperous home for the local Anishnawbek. Present day, Sagamok seeks to capitalize on the success of achieving ISO 9001:2000 certification, meeting globally recognized requirements. The reserve is also the first to employ language immersion in Ontario, teaching solely in the Anishnawbemowin from Kindergarten to Grade 3.
Akin to the river Sagamok is nestled against, we seek to move forever forward, never ceasing to progress.